El Camino – the way

greetings from Leon in northern spain.

I am writing from Convento Santa Maria de las Carbajalas, one of the hostels for the people walk along the old pilgrim route. I´ve never stayed at a convent before.

today I obtained the passport – the credential. already I got my first stamp. so the joureney has started.

many friends have asked why I´d want to do Camino. well, why not. it´s a good way to shed off a few extra pounds and it is also a journey of enquiry when i have the time and space to ponder about the deeper meaning of my life.

and the scenery along the way is beautiful.

I arrived here today by train from Madrid where I enjoyed the warm hospitality of an indian couple, friends of a friend.

Leon is a charming lillte medieval town with a grand cathadral in the town center. I felt so happy this afternoon as I strolled in the bright sunshine along the narrow winding streets. a world away from hot, sticky Beijing.

Leave a Reply

