Speaking at HSBC’s annual conference

When HSBC was looking for a ‘highly interesting and unusual speaker’ for their annual conference, Shaun Rein, a highly-regarded business consultant as well as experienced speaker, kindly recommended me. So last night, I delivered the speech at Grand Hyatt in Shanghai. I was instructed to talk about social changes since the reforms and the opening up and my own story is part of it. It had to be ‘informative, entertaining, insightful and original – not the sort of things that one can read in newspapers’. I tried hard to meet the requirement. I am pleased to report that it went well. People in the audience – a mixture of HSBC staff and their clients around the globe – came to congratulate me.

Afterwards, I went with a few conference goers to the bar Cloud 9 on the 88th floor for a drink. I felt high indeed, even though I didn’t consume anything alcoholic!

One thought on “Speaking at HSBC’s annual conference

Leave a Reply

