audio book offer

This morning, I got so excited when I read an email from my literary agent Becky, announcing that I have been offered an advance of USD 8000 for the audio book rights. Describing it as a ‘great’ deal, she said it is much higher than the average audio advance of USD 3000 and urged me to accept. Immediately I was thinking how I could spend the extra money. Taking the girls for another exotic holiday? Cuba? As I read on, my agent pointed out that since my publisher Henry Holt, an inprint of MacMillan, owns the right, the advance will go straight to them, earning out against the book advance.

Well, it’s still a piece of good news, and hopefully a marker that my debut novel will be a marketable/bankable one!

And I’ll surely take the girls to Cuba in the near future, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

